skip navigation

Pinning Down a Pair of State Spots in a Loaded Field

02/25/2019, 6:15pm CST
By Tom Schardin

Calvin Sund continued his pursuit of perfection in the Section 2AAA individual wrestling tournament Feb. 23 in Rosemount.

The Prior Lake senior won the 195-pound title, earning an 11-5 decision over Joey Johnson of Shakopee in the title match. Sund was one of two Lakers to make the state field.

Junior Chase Bloomquist also qualified, finishing second at 132 pounds.

Sund will take a 35-0 record in the Class 3A state individual tourney. He's the No. 1 seed at 195 pounds. The first two rounds and wrestlebacks are March 1 with the semifinals and title match are Match 2. Both days at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul.

Last year, Sund was the runner-up at 182 pounds and he was also fifth at that weight as a sophomore.

Bloomquist will take a 25-8 record into his first-ever state competition. He went 2-1 at sections, losing 13-3 in the title match to Adam Michelson of Apple Valley. Bloomquist won by fall over Simon Kajer of New Prague in the quarterfinals and earned a 4-3 decision over Mason Enderlein of Eastview in the semifinals.

Sund won by fall in his first two matches — pinning Joel Joubert of Burnsville in the quarterfinals and Will Stone of Lakeville South in the semifinals.

For complete state individual brackets, go to

The last Prior Lake wrestler to cap off a perfect season with a state title was Alex Hart in 2015 when he went 35-0 to win the heavyweight crown. Jake Kahnke went 46-0 in 2008 and 41-0 in 2007 to win the 215- and 189-pound titles, respectively, for the Lakers.

Kahnke and Hart are also Prior Lake's only two-time state champions. Hart also won the 220-pound crown in 2014.

If Sund can finish the perfect season, he will become the Lakers' 13th individual to win a state title and the program's 15th overall.

Other Prior Lake state champions include: Brad Thompson in 1969 (98 pounds), Bill Sauter in 1974 (125), Bruce Johnson in 1975 (145), Bill Craven in 1975 (140), Chad LeMair in 1986 (112), Cory Forar in 1997 (189), Ryan LeBeau in 1999 (130), Calvin Wolff in 2007 (135), Luis Pinto in 2014 (heavyweight) and Kenny O'Neil in 2017 (160).

Meanwhile, Prior Lake had 10 on the medal stand out of the 14 weight at sections.

Sophomore Teagan Block ended up fourth at 113 pounds. He earned a 7-0 decision in his first match, before losing by technical fall in the semifinals to Patrick Creese of Shakopee, who won went on to win the title.

Block earned a 7-2 decision in the consolation semifinals, before losing by fall in the third-place match.

Junior Logan Hennen was also fourth at 170 pounds. He lost his first match, earned a couple of byes and then won medical forfeit in the consolation semifinals. Hennen lost by major decision in the third-place match.

Ninth-grader Cole Edwards ended up fifth at 138 pounds for the Lakers, as did sophomore Colton Sund at 145 and senior Scott Gray at 152. Junior Cory St. Martin, senior Logan Edwards and sophomore Brandon Butler were each sixth at 126, 160 and 220 pounds, respectively.

Ninth-grader Jonah Kolsrud and sophomore Billy Trees were both eighth at 106 and 182 pounds, respectively.

Tag(s): HOME  Wrestling