skip navigation

Continuing To Set A Faster Pace On The Trails

01/10/2019, 9:00pm CST
By Tom Schardin

The Prior Lake boys Nordic ski team continues to set the pace in the South Suburban Conference.

The Lakers ran away the title in a 5,000-meter classical race Jan. 8 at Hyland Park Reserve, winning with 172 points. That was well ahead of runner-up Eagan (147) and third-place Northfield (121).

Independent School District 196 was fourth (114), followed by Lakeville South (97), Lakeville North (79), Burnsville (72) and Farmington (8).

On the girls side, Eastview won with 179 points, while Prior Lake was a distant second (129). Northfield was third (113), followed by Rosemount (97), Lakeville South (92), Burnsville (83), Lakeville South (65) and Independent School District 196 (62).

Both Laker teams also competed in the Loppet Invitational Jan. 5 at Wirth Park in Minneapolis. The Prior Lake boys were third in the 16-team field with 308 points. Eden Prairie won (324), followed by Robbinsdale Armstrong (314).

On the girls side, the Lakers were fifth (288) with Robbinsdale Armstrong taking the top spot (322), followed by Edina (319).

Both Laker teams are on the trails Jan. 12 in the Section 1 True Team at Valleywood Golf Course in Apple Valley at 9 a.m. The next SSC race is Jan. 15 at Battle Creek Park at 3:30 p.m.

In the SSC classical race, the Prior Lake boys had three skiers in the top five and four in the top nine. Sophomore Magnus O'Connor won with a time of 13:56, while sophomore Tom Beyer finished third (14:11) and junior Liam Schatzlein was fifth (14:43).

Senior Ben Jansen ended up ninth for the Lakers (15:21), followed by senior Henry Trajano in 15th (15:57) and eighth-grader Evan O'Connor in 21st (16:29).

For the Laker girls, senior Olivia Jacobson led the team with a 10th-place finish (17:45). Senior Madisen Clemensen was 12th (17:52), followed by senior Ingrid O'Connor in 14th (18:12).

Other finishes for the girls: eighth-grader Sophia Jacobson (19th, 18:56), sophomore Katie Nollette (21st, 19:08), sophomore Maddie Reckmeyer (29th, 20:21), sophomore Laura Murr (33rd, 20:43), junior Bryanne Pinkowski (35th, 21:24) and junior Kelly Kero (41st, 21:59).

At the Loppett invite, Magnus O'Connor led the boys team in the classical race taking fourth (14:18.53), while Trajano was 11th (15:19.96) and junior Marco Valdivia was 30th (17:39.25).

In freestyle, Beyer ended up fifth for the boys (13:06.98), followed by Evan O'Connor in 22nd (14:48.18) and sophomore Connor Young in 41st (17:28.44).

Jansen and Schatzlein competed in the relay for the boys and finished fifth (11:34.97).

For the Laker girls, Sophia Jacobson and Nollette were seventh in the relay (14:10.08).

In freestyle, O'Connor was 14th for the girls (16:25.78), followed by Murr in 19th (17:11.15) and sophomore Maia Johnson in 30th (18;36.46). In classical, Olivia Jacobson took sixth (17:47.57), while Clemensen was 18th (19:41.37) and Reckmeyer was 26th (20:43.01).

Tag(s): HOME  Nordic Skiing